La Barraca
La Barraca vzw
 Home    La Barraca     Productions     Press     Concerts     Links     Contact   
   > video <    view this page in another language :  NEDERLANDS FRANÇAIS ENGLISH  
OLLA VOGALA : Fellah Mengus
The term "Fellah Mengus" = "traveling or nomadic farmer" is the most popular hypothesis in Spain when it comes to the history of the word "Flamenco". It is the old-Arabic expression for a wanderer who became sedentary over time. Gradually this word has been corrupted into "Flamenco". And it is Arte Flamenco that is flourishing like never before and in the meantime has conquered the whole world ... and continues to wander around.

After years of musical rambles, OLLA VOGALA got in touch with a number of fantastic Flamenco musicians (singer Carmen Fernández, dancer Inés García and guitarist Alexander Gavilan), thanks to a production called "EXODUS".
This was a special experience for everyone and they decided to join forces for a new project. "FELLAH MENGUS" is the result.

Is it pure Flamenco? Is it Jazz? World music? With the nomadic spirit of OLLA VOGALA it can go in every direction. But it is certainly a wonderful meeting between genres and cultures. And OLLA VOGALA has a solid reputation when it comes to respectfully and carefully dealing with other musical cultures.

We bring new compositions based on old flamencostyles, improvisations between horns and flamenco dance, with on top the characteristic gipsy voice of singer Carmen Fernandez. A gitana that sings the fate of her beautiful people. Nomads and sedentary citizens.

The link with Sephardic music is never far. And thanks to two wonderful musicians such as Elias Bachoura and Shalan Alhamwy (Syria), the Arabic input also takes shape.

Wouter Vandenabeele: violin, artistic direction, compositions and arrangements
Alexander Gavilan: Flamenco guitar, compositions and arrangements
Elias Bachoura: lute
Shalan Alhamwy: violin
Inès Garcia: Flamenco dance
Carmen Fernandez: vocals
Lode Vercampt: cello
Marc De Maeseneer: baritone sax
Frederik Heirman: trombone
Ruven Ruppik: drums, percussion
Joris Vanvinckenroye: double bass
Guido Declercq en Elza Jeanty: nomadic water carriers